talk-share-learn

web 2.0 for development

I have many doubts on this Buzz

2 Comments

Something “new” but not so new is online. Google Buzz is just arrived and as Mashable reports, they already put together 9 million posts in few days. Still I’m a bit confused.

After starting testing it, my questions are: What’s new? Do I abandon my twitter place? What happened to Wave that seemed to be the new panacea? Having it embedded into my Gmail account is good but enough to make me use it?

Well, to be honest, as usual time will give me the answers to these questions but still I have the doubt that something is going differently this time. Less innovation and more confusion… Have users’ needs being taken into account or pure competition logic drove the creation of a new feature?

Author: Luca Servo @ talksharelearn

Passionate about social media, development projects and the world. Currently, I’m supporting the Emergency Division of the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations in managing its online communication through the website, the social media and the mobile apps.

2 thoughts on “I have many doubts on this Buzz

  1. two features I just discovered that I really like are:
    – possibility to add an icon on my iPhone,
    – possibility to see contacts who are nearby.
    Not bad!

  2. Months have passed and buzz did NOT reached in anyway twitter. This is a lesson I think. the applications do the same things but they are not the same thing. And people perceive this. keep always in mind people’s perceptions first!

Leave a Reply

